Welcome to our Gold Challenge Blog! (The Madness of it all!)

10 Apr

 

O…M…G…What have I signed myself up for?! (and Yvette too – we’re in this madness together!)

Archery, Swimming, Judo, Tennis, Taekwondo, ROWING (?!), Canoeing, Trampolining, Horse Riding and Fencing…seriously…are we mad? The logical answer to that is YES! But when you consider why we are doing it, perhaps its the least madest thing in the world…

Now its no Marathon or anything, but who really ever signs themselves up to do 10 sports in a year? I’ve deliberately not chosen any Atheltics/Track or team sports, because that would be signing myself up for failure and thats not what this is about, I don’t want to fail and I do want to enjoy the experience if I can (haha). Some of them I have tried before (if anything, just a taster session) and some of them are completely new to me. Its going to cost a fortune but this is about trying new sports, seeing how far I can push myself without killing myself in the process and ultimately completing every one of them for sponsorship towards helping an amazing Charity, who help amazingly brave people.

Everyone who knows me (Christina) well, knows I am the least sportiest person ever, the most I’ve ever done is Dance, and according to the Olympics, its not even a proper ‘sport’ so there you go! I’m more likely to hit a head than a target board, drown than swim, break a bone than trampoline, cry at the first touch of self defence, collapse at even the thought of a few hours rowing, let alone 6 weeks of circuit training ON TOP of it, capsizing in a canoe – errr I think not – and can you honestly see me get up onto a horse? – let alone ride it?!

Actually doing sport, is like asking me to jump off a cliff into the raging sea – I just wouldn’t choose to do it! The last time I did anything sport-wise, was my (thank the lord) last Games lesson in High School – which I almost always tried to skyve out of! Among some of our awful excuses, such as ‘I fell down the stairs last night’, ‘I hurt my hand/legs/arms/head’ and the lame one of ‘I have very bad period pains’, I remember in middle school me, Linzie, Emma and Laura managed to skip a whole term of lessons to stay in and play (very bad) badminton instead, by writing letters from our ‘Doctors’ saying we weren’t allowed to play very physical sport for 6 weeks – somehow our teacher believed this – and let us off! (I think personally she knew how bad we were and really didn’t want us on her teams.)

So the fact I (+ Yvette are) completing not only a 5k and 10k race for life but a TEN SPORT charity challenge is beyond my belief let alone all of yours! Our blog will keep you informed about our trials, pain, laughs and dare I even say it – fun? We’ll post after each training session and for each new sport we’ll give you the low-down on what we have to do. There will also be alot of very bad pictures and videos of us in training! You’ll be so informed and involved, you’ll practically be smelling our sweat!

In order to complete the challenge we have to clock at least 5 hours of coached lessons (and from what I keep getting told “being coached in a sport is completely different from doing it as a pastime or for fun”) but me being me, has decided that, oh no, 5 hours of torture isn’t enough – so at least 6 weeks of torture in each sport is!!???? And it doesn’t stop there, for every £50 raised over my £300 target, I have to complete ANOTHER sport! ‘This is going to be a plethora of what I would say, ‘such funs”!!

However a few sports is nothing compared to what some people face when being diagnosed with a terminal illness, so we can surely go through a year of pain, endurance and fitness testing, and new experiences to help give money towards the care and hope needed for thousands of people, and who knows. . . we may even end up enjoying some of them? (Did you believe those words? Nope neither did I, oh dear. . .)

To sponsor Christina please visit: http://www.goldchallenge.org/gc/user/AblemanC and click on the big, fat, orange SPONSOR ME button! 🙂

One Response to “Welcome to our Gold Challenge Blog! (The Madness of it all!)”

  1. Laura & Laith April 11, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    hey crazy girl, what ur doing sounds awesome and what an amazing cause – good for u! i hope we are going to get some pictures on this blog i would love to see u attempting these sports lol!!
    As u can imagine our money is tight atm but will defo contribute at the end of the yr.
    Ull never guess wot we have just come bk from staying at an elephant sanctuary and the mommy elephant that we rode, bathed and fed was called nothing other than CHRISTINA lol. Called her apple for a while.
    anway ull be able to read more about that on our blog
    Lots of luck with all ur sports hun im sure ull be fine
    Love n hugs
    Laura & Laith
    xxx xxx

Leave a Reply

